I am so excited for Turkey! (The English translation of my title)

AHHH! I can’t believe it!! This time next week I will be in Turkey. It’s unbelievable how quickly time has passed. Very soon it will be March and I will have been here for two months. I have this weird feeling that I have been here so long, but sometimes I also feel like I have been here for only two weeks. I’m not sure how to explain it. But it’s weird.

(Ps. As I am writing this blog I have a puppy biting my chin. This is both cute and painful.)

I have been learning about the education system in Turkey, which is not in the greatest condition right now, and the more I learn the more I am interesting to see what the culture is like firsthand. I have heard so many different opinions, even from people on the street. Literally. We had to go up to people on the street outside of our classroom and ask them about Turkey. Very interesting assignment. People from Turkey are the biggest immigrant population here in Denmark. Think about the feelings toward the Mexican population in America, it is very similar in Denmark toward the Turkish population.

I will be getting a rundown of what my stay in Turkey will be like tomorrow. My professor, Maja (a different spelling of my name. Maja is actually a fairly popular name in Denmark. Said My-Ahh), grew up in Turkey as a child and even went to school there. I’m told by a student who went to Turkey with Maja last semester that she is a mother bear when it comes to her students visiting Turkey. She is uber protective. It will be nice to have someone there who knows the area pretty well and who knows the language.

Here are some things I might see when I am in Istanbul:

Image

Image

Image

It will be so different than what I am used to and I just can’t wait! (Sorry, Uncle Bruce. I know you don’t like that expression very much for some pretty great philosophical reasons, but it needs to be used here!) Also, I turn 21 in Turkey so that should be interesting.

I’m not exactly sure what I will be doing exactly while I am there, but it doesn’t really matter as long as I am there!

Just thought I would share some excitement with you all!

Enjoy your day/night!

